There are 14 allergens that must be declared by law

Cereals containing gluten – wheat (such as spelt and khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats Note: The cereal name e.g ‘wheat’, must be declared and highlighted, not ‘gluten’

Crustaceans e.g. crabs, prawns, lobsters

Eggs

Fish

Peanuts

Soybeans

Milk

Nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia/Queensland nut) Note: The name of the nut, e.g. ‘almond’, must be declared and highlighted, not ‘nuts’

Celery

Mustard

Sesame Seeds

Sulphur Dioxide and sulphites (at concentrations of more than 10mg/kg or 10mg/L in terms of total sulphur dioxide) – used as a preservative

Lupin 

Molluscs e.g. mussels, oysters, squid, snails

Note: there are some derivatives of these allergens which are so highly processed that they are not considered an allergenic risk and so do not need to be highlighted as allergens. View the full list of allergens and exemptions